GOLF: David Kitt Just Off The Lead in Irish Amateur Open 

David Kitt (Athenry) driving at the 14th tee during day five of the AIG 2017 Irish Amateur Close Championship at Galway Golf Club today (26/08/2017). Picture by Pat Cashman

Athenry golfer David Kitt is just one shot behind joint leaders Theo Boulet and Joshua Robinson after the opening round of the 2018 Irish Boys Amateur Open Championshp in Belvoir Park on Tuesday (26th June). 

The 18-year-old carded a three-under-par score of 68 along with Rian Carvill and Habebul Islam.

Kitt was runner-up in the 2017 Irish Amateur Close championship and is primed to make a serious challenge in the Belfast course.

But county interest among the leaders will also focus on Galway’s Liam Nolan who carded a par round of 71, better than his three scores in the 2017 event.

Athenry’s Darren Leufer and Galway’s Gavin Keogh finished on 73 (+2), Athenry’s Allan Hill scored 77 (+6), Cathal Cunningham from Galway Bay carded 80 (+9) and Portumna’s Sam Murphy finished on 82 (+11).

The competition takes place over four days with the final round taking place on Friday, 29th June.

Scorecard (after Round 1 – Par 71) 

67 Theo Boulet (France); Joshua Robinson (Lisburn)

68 David Kitt (Athenry); R Carvill (Warrenpoint); H Islam (England)

69 J McCabe (Roganstown); O Maguire (Slieve Russell); A Davies (Wales)

70 J Byrne (Baltinglass); S Dowling (The Island); S Burrell (Spain)

71 – Liam Nolan (Galway) 

72 – R Goodyear (England); E Shipp (Headfort); B Pierleoni (England); D West (England); C French (Carton House); S Doyle (Black Bush)

73 – D Raher (Dungarvan); Darren Leufer (Athenry); C Denvir (Elm Park); D Li (Germany); T McKibbin (Holywood); S Miller (Clandeboye); D Gurr (England); J Brady (Rosslare); D Keating (Seapoint); C Murtagh (Balcarrick); S O’Brien (Nenagh); A d’Aurelle de Paladines (France); C Byrne (Strabane); Gavin Keogh (Galway); A Maguire (Laytown & Bettystown); H Archer (France); M Kennedy (Royal Dublin)

74 – M Deasy (Bantry Bay); R McNelis (Fintona); K Morrison (Greenacres); C Rabbette (Esker Hills); D Rochford (Bray); G Herlihy (Castle); B Beaumont (Bangor); N Trey (France); A Marshall (Lisburn); S Carroll (Castle Dargan); J Hill (Galgorm Castle); P McNelis (Fintona)

75 – J Shellard (Lisburn); A Blair (Scrabo); P Naughton (Limerick); K Rafferty (Dundalk); H Arnold (England); C Glennon (Glasson); A Greville (Wales); T Plunkett (Crover House); C Dunn (Foyle); J Black (Lisburn); J Rooney (Co Armagh); A Flynn (Dun Laoghaire); P Beauvy (France)

76 – O O’Driscoll (Golf Clementader Paris); A Smith (Mullingar); E Rowe (Tandragee); S Irwin (Killeen); L Keyes (Dun Laoghaire); E McArthur (Massereene); E Sullivan (Carton House); A Naughton (Grange Castle Golf club); D Connolly (Castle Dargan); P Conroy (Enniscorthy); L Mitchell (Knock); J Egan (Muskerry); T Higgins (Roscommon); J Mackin (Dundalk); E O’Shaughnessy (Muskerry); C Dawson (Tramore)

77 – J Doherty (Carton House); J O’Riordan (Dungarvan); A Carroll (Citywest Resort); N Kirwan (Mount Juliet); S Jones (Belvoir Park); B Phipps (Ardee); T Smyth (Castle); K Robinson (Castlewarden); B Crawford (Greenacres); Allan Hill (Athenry); R Cowhey (Elm Park); R Galligan (Elm Park); J Hull (England); N Van Caneghem (France)

Selected Others: 

80 – Cathal Cunnigham (Galway Bay) 

82 – Sam Murphy (Portumna)