Galway United v Athlone Town: preview

Galway Daily sport Galway United v Athlone Town: preview

Galway United are headed to Athlone this evening for their second game of the 2021 season, after an indecisive start against Shelbourne last week.

United Manager John Caulfield said that they are looking forward to a “great game” tonight, as Athlone have put together a very solid team.

Adrian Carberry’s side started their season with a 2-2 draw against UCD, which Caulfield praised as a “fantastic result”.

“They have brought in a number of quality players with experience and will be looking to compete for the division title. It is another great game to look forward to, we have been working all week for it but we know how difficult it will be.”

“Reflecting on last Friday’s match, I thought we played quite well during the game and created some chances but unfortunately we didn’t take them.”

“This team will improve as we go on and I am very happy with the attitude of the lads so far,” John Caulfield said.

Galway United’s first home game of the season against Shelbourne last Friday ended in a 0-0 draw at Eamonn Deacy Park.

“Every week you have to be on your game. It is a highly competitive league and we know we have to play to our best standard to get results. With the one automatic spot, it is going to be a real challenge for all the teams but all we can do is be on our top form.”

“There are a few knocks from last week and we will know better closer to kick-off but we are hopeful they will clear up. We are still at the start of the season and it is a long way to go but it is another big game for us on Friday night in Athlone.”

Francely Lomboto will miss out on Friday’s game due to a long-term injury, while Stephen Christopher returns to the squad after missing last week’s game, and it is hoped Ronan Manning will do the same.

Galway United v Athlone Town will kick off at 7:45pm on Friday night.

Galway United 2021 Squad

Kevin Horgan, Conor Kearns, Michael Garrihy, Conor O’Keeffe, Stephen Walsh, Gary Boylan, Killian Brouder, Maurice Nugent, Christopher Horgan, Shane Duggan, David Hurley, Shane Doherty, Stephen Christopher, Mikie Rowe, Carlton Ubaezuonu, Caoilfhionn O’Dea, Mikey Place, Conor McCormack, Ronan Manning, Ruairi Keating, Padraic Cunningham, Wilson Waweru, Francely Lomboto, Colin Kelly.