GALWAY LGFA: Galway Clubs to Compete in Lá Náisiúnta Blitz na gClub Gaeltachta 


Nine Galway clubs will take part in the Ladies Gaelic Football Association’s very first Lá Náisiúnta Blitz na gClub Gaeltachta on Easter Monday (2nd April). 

In association with championship sponsors TG4, Lá Náisiúnta Blitz na gClub Gaeltachta will see under 12 girls from 22 clubs and schools all over Ireland pit their wits against each other and mingle with some of Ladies Football’s leading stars.

Lá Náisiúnta Blitz na gClub Gaeltachta is part of the LGFA’s ongoing initiatives to celebrate Bliain na Gaeilge.  And on Monday, clubs and schools from Donegal, Galway, Kerry, Dublin, Meath, Mayo, Kildare and Cork will get the chance to play on the hallowed Croke Park sod.

The LGFA’s official retail partner and National League sponsor Lidl will also provide lunches to the competing teams.

Lidl will also assist with the coordination of the day through the provision of mentor bibs and the presence of Lidl ambassadors.

“As part of our ongoing efforts to mark Bliain na Gaeilge, we are gathering together 22 teams with Irish-speaking backgrounds,” said LGFA CEO Helen O’Rourke on their official website.

“This is another exciting initiative for our Association and we are very much looking forward to welcoming these young players to Croke Park.

“The ongoing celebrations of Bliain na Gaeilge are very important to us and this unique event at Croke Park will celebrate the Irish language through the medium of Ladies Gaelic Football.

“TG4 are very proud to be associated with this initiative with the LGFA,” said TG4 Head of Sport Rónán Ó Coistealbha.

“2018 is Bliain na Gaeilge and next Monday is a fantastic opportunity for young girls representing Gaeltacht Clubs and schools from all over the country to grace the hallowed turf of Croke Park, speaking the Irish Language.”

The Galway clubs competing are:

An Spidéal, Naomh Anna, Carna, Bearna, Mícheál Breathnach, Baile Chláir na Gaillimhe, Grainne Mhaoile, An Cheathrú Rua and Annaghdown.