GALWAY GAA: Maroon and White Get Three Minor Football Spots


Three Galway players have been honoured on the 2018 Electric Ireland Minor Football Team of the Year that was announced on Wednesday (12th September). 

Donal O Fatharta’s team won the Connacht title before beating Clare and Meath in the All-Ireland series only to be stopped by Kerry in the final.

Corofin pair Tony Gill and Matthew Cooley have been named at centre back and left corner forward respectively.  Glenamaddy’s Conor Raftery takes his place in midfield.

Suprisingly, there was no place for 2018 Galway Daily Minor Footballer of the Year Cathal Sweeney.

Five-in-a-row winners Kerry have four players – Owen Fitzgerald (full-back), Colm Moriarty (right half-back), Darragh Rahilly (midfield) and Paul Walsh (right half-forward).

Leinster champions Meath and Ulster champions Monaghan have two representatives each with Kildare, Derry, Dublin and Wicklow making up the rest.

The Electric Ireland Minor Football Team of the Year 2018 

  1. John Ball (Kildare)
  2. Ronan Grimes (Monaghan)
  3. Owen Fitzgerald (Kerry)
  4. Tiarnan Woods (Derry)
  5. Colm Moriarty (Kerry)
  6. Tony Gill (Galway) 
  7. Mark Lavin (Dublin)
  8. Darragh Rahilly (Kerry)
  9. Conor Raftery (Galway) 
  10. Paul Walsh (Kerry)
  11. Matthew Costello (Meath)
  12. Aaron Mulligan (Monaghan)
  13. Luke Mitchell (Meath)
  14. Eoin Darcy (Wicklow)
  15. Matthew Cooley (Galway)