GALWAY GAA: 2018 Galway Daily under 21 Hurler Semi-Finals 


The opening round of our 2018 Galway Daily under 21 Hurler of the Year competition closed last night (Monday) as the 16 contenders were whittled down to nine players. 

Captain Fintan Burke topped the poll with 73%, followed by Sean Loftus (66%), Sean Bleahene (40%), Kevin Cooney (37%) and Cianan Fahy (37%).

The top two from each of the four groups advanced to the next round along with the best placed third placed player (Jack Fitzpatrick).

Some of those unfortunate to be eliminated included Eanna Murphy, Jack Grealish, Shane Bannon and Mark Hughes.

The semi-finalists will take part today (Tuesday) in three groups containing three players each.  The winners from each group plus the best runner-up will qualify for Wednesday’s final.

Any ties will be decided by our adjudication panel.  All you need to do is log into (and like) our twitter page and like your favourite player in each section each day.  It’s that simple.  Each poll will last for 15 hours.


Round 1 Results 

KEVIN COONEY – 37%, THOMAS MONAGHAN – 34%, JACK FITZPATRICK – 18%, Shane Bannon – 11%

SEAN BLEAHENE – 40%, CIANAN FAHY – 37%, Eanna Murphy – 15%, Mark Hughes – 8%

FINTAN BURKE – 73%, EVAN NILAND – 14%, Jack Grealish – 13%, Patrick Foley – 0%

SEAN LOFTUS – 66%, BRIAN CONCANNON – 24%, Andrew Greaney – 5%, Ian O’Shea – 5%

The posts below will show the semi-final draw and we will have winners each day along with the overall results on Thursday (16th August).  Best of luck to all players!