11 C
Home SPORT GAA GALWAY GAA: 2018 Galway Daily Senior Footballer Semi-Finals 

GALWAY GAA: 2018 Galway Daily Senior Footballer Semi-Finals

The opening round of our 2018 Galway Daily Senior Footballer of the Year competition closed last night (Monday) as the 20 contenders were whittled down to 12 players. 

Captain Damien Comer topped the poll with 78% followed by Shane Walsh (73%), Ian Burke (68%) and Sean Kelly (63%).

The top two from each of the five groups advanced to the next round along with the two best third placed players (Eamonn Brannigan, Cathal Sweeney).

Some of those unfortunate to be eliminated included Johnny Heaney, Gareth Bradshaw, Sean Armstrong, Gary O’Donnell and Patrick Sweeney.

The semi-finalists will take part today (Tuesday) in four groups containing three players each.  The winners from each group will qualify for Wednesday’s final.

Any ties will be decided by our adjudication panel.  All you need to do is log into (and like) our twitter page and like your favourite player in each section each day.  It’s that simple.  Each poll will last for 15 hours.


Round 1 Results

SHANE WALSH – 73%, EOGHAN KERIN – 21%, Gareth Bradshaw – 6%, Barry McHugh – 0%

DAMIEN COMER – 78%, TOM FLYNN – 20%, Peter Cooke – 2%, Declan Kyne – 0%

RUAIRI LAVELLE – 46%, PAUL CONROY – 37%, EAMONN BRANNIGAN – 15%, Sean Armstrong – 2%

Ruairi Lavelle

IAN BURKE – 68%, SEAN ANDY O’CEALLAIGH – 23%, Johnny Heaney – 7%, Gary O’Donnell – 2%

SEAN KELLY – 63%, CIARAN DUGGAN – 20%, CATHAL SWEENEY – 15%, Patrick Sweeney – 2%

The posts below will show the semi-final draw and we will have winners each day along with the overall results on Thursday (16th August).  Best of luck to all players!  

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Galway has Ireland’s 2nd highest level of COVID cases for second day

Galway has had the second highest number of daily cases in Ireland for the second day in a row, with 81 new cases of...

Cottage in the country is ripe for renovation

For the full Irish country experience there’s nothing quite like a traditional thatched cottage home for a bit of old world charm.O’Donnellan & Joyce...

One electoral area in Galway has third highest Covid rate in Republic

One in every 102 people in the Galway City Central LEA has tested positive for Covid-19 over the past two weeks, according to updated...