12.4 C
Home SPORT GAA GALWAY GAA: 2018 Football All-Stars – THE FINAL! 

GALWAY GAA: 2018 Football All-Stars – THE FINAL! 

The semi-finals of the 2018 Galway Daily Football All-Stars saw the 45 remaining nominees whittled down to 30 ahead of today’s (Wednesday) finals. 

All seven Galway contenders qualified for the final – Eoghan Kerin, Sean Kelly, Sean Andy O Ceallaigh, Tom Flynn, Damien Comer, Ian Burke, Shane Walsh.

Dublin have 10 players left, followed by Galway (7), Monaghan (6), Tyrone (3), Kerry (2) while Carlow and Donegal have one remaining player.  Cavan, Laois and Kildare saw their final nominees depart.

The adjudicators were called into making one decision in Group 2 of the Defenders section – and they sided with Jonny Cooper over John Small.

Those unlucky to be eliminated included John Small (Dublin), Peter Harte (Tyrone), Drew Wylie (Monaghan) and Gavin White (Kerry).

The finals will see eight groups.  The remaining two goalkeepers will battle head-to-head for one place.  And there will be seven groups containing four players each across the other three categories (three defenders, one midfielder, three forwards).

The top two from each of these groups will make the team along with the goalkeeper and the players were seeded based on the semi-final results.

So, join us in deciding our team of the year.  All ties will be decided by our adjudication committee and we look forward to seeing what 15 players make the final cut on Thursday (20th September).   


Semi-Final Results   


RORY BEGGAN (Monaghan) – 70%, STEPHEN CLUXTON (Dublin) – 26%, Graham Brody (Laois) – 4%

Rory Beggan


JACK McCAFFREY (Dublin) – 70%, KARL O’CONNELL (Monaghan) – 20%, Drew Wylie (Monaghan) – 10%

Jack McCaffrey

JAMES McCARTHY (Dublin) – 40%, JONNY COOPER (Dublin) – 30%, John Small (Dublin) – 30%

EOGHAN KERIN (Galway) – 67%, TIERNAN McCANN (Tyrone) – 25%, Eoin Murchan (Dublin) – 8%

Eoghan Kerin

SEAN KELLY (Galway) – 42%, RYAN WYLIE (Monaghan) – 42%, Michael McKernan (Tyrone) – 16%

SEAN ANDY O CEALLAIGH (Galway) – 50%, PADRAIG HAMPSEY (Tyrone) – 33%, Peter Harte (Tyrone) – 17%

PAUL MURPHY (Kerry) – 50%, EOGHAN BAN GALLAGHER (Donegal) – 40%, Gavin White (Kerry) – 10%



COLM CAVANAGH (Tyrone) – 54%, TOM FLYNN (Galway) – 31%, Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone) – 15%

Colm Cavanagh

BRIAN FENTON (Dublin) – 79%, NIALL KEARNS (Monaghan) – 14%, Gearoid McKiernan (Cavan) – 7%


IAN BURKE (Galway) – 67%, DEAN ROCK (Dublin) – 20%, Niall Scully (Dublin) – 13%

SHANE WALSH (Galway) – 61%, DAMIEN COMER (Galway) – 31%, Paddy McBrearty (Donegal) – 8%

PAUL MANNION (Dublin) – 83%, CON O’CALLAGHAN (Dublin) – 17%, Michael Murphy (Donegal) – 0%

CIARAN KILKENNY (Dublin) – 88%, RYAN McANESPIE (Monaghan) – 12%, Daniel Flynn (Kildare) – 0%

DAVID CLIFFORD (Kerry) – 92%, PAUL BRODERICK (Carlow) – 8%, Ryan McHugh (Donegal) – 0%

CONOR McMANUS (Monaghan) – 73%, BRIAN HOWARD (Dublin) – 27%, Paul Cribbin (Kildare) – 0%

Conor McManus

Our new restaurants page features all of Galway’s favourite eateries –  making it oh so easy to choose when and where to eat whenever you’re craving some delicious food!

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Fresh weather warning in effect for Galway today

A new Status Yellow weather warning issued by Met Eireann is in effect in Galway today after a similar warning issued Friday was cancelled. The...

Coronavirus: 1 death and 11 new cases in Ireland

There has been one new death of a person with COVID-19 reported today, along with 11 new confirmed coronavirus cases in the Republic. There have...

Plans submitted for 62 hectare solar farm outside Tuam

Plans have been submitted to Galway County Council for the construction of a 62 hectare solar farm just outside of Tuam. The planning application, which...
Your Cart