The Camogie Association have instigated a great programme and brillant opportunity to recruit and educate new referees in Galway ahead of the 2018 Feile na nGael competitions which will take place in June.

The National under 14 tournaments are one of the biggest annual events in the Gaelic Games calendar with young players throughout Ireland coming together for a festival of games over one weekend.

Sarsfields, Mullagh, Pearses, Craughwell and Athenry have been overall winners in the past while the Feile Skills event has also seen Galway winners including Anne Ryan, Claire Lynch, Cathy Bowes and current Galway senior captain Sarah Dervan.

Not just is it about the sporting exploits on the field, but young players have made life lasting friendships with new people they’ve met at this event.

This year’s hurling and camogie instalments take place in Galway, Westmeath, Mayo and Roscommon with a round-robin series of games before knockout action across multiple divisions.

Camogie’s Whistle4Feile programme is free to participants and each new referee will receive a referee T-shirt, referee wallet with inserts and yellow and red cards.

A training course for Galway referees will take place on February 24th providing practical experience pre-Feile as well as access to a Referee Mentor.  Applicants will also receive a Camogie Referee Certificate as well as a National Reference for their Curriculum Vitae.

They will also be added to their county database for future games if they wish.

It’s open to anyone over 18 years of age who is a member of a club and males and females are encouraged to take part and be part of this major event refereeing key matches throughout the three days.

To register, contact Lizzie Flynn at or (087) 6436579 before Wednesday, 21st February.

Those wishing to take part from Roscommon, Mayo or Westmeath should also contact Lizzie and training days for them will be on March 3rd (Roscommon and Mayo) and March 24th (Westmeath).

In 2017, 14 competitions took place in camogie with Salthill/Knocknacarra reaching the Division 3 Cup Final.  There were also winners from Kilkenny, Mayo, Kerry, Wicklow, Wexford, Carlow, Kildare, Down, Limerick and Cork.