GAA: Rahoon/Newcastle – 2018 County Junior C1 Hurling Champions!

Robert Earley

County Junior C1 Hurling Final – Sunday, 7th October 2018 

Rahoon/Newcastle 0-13 Tynagh/Abbey-Duniry 1-9 (Loughrea) 

(Photos: courtesy – Joe Keane)

Rahoon Newcastle defeated Tynagh Abbey Duniry in a windy Loughrea to win the Junior C1 Championship for the first time on a score line of 0-13 to 1-9. This was the club’s first year to have three adult mens teams.

After winning Junior C last year, a third team was entered into the C1 competition to cater for the growing number of players.

At half time, Rahoon led 0-10 to 0-4 having played with the breeze.  A Tynagh goal early in the second half closed the gap to two points but Rahoon held on to secure back to back Junior championships. This was the teams tenth game in the competition with just the one loss.

There were great performances in the defence from goalkeeper John Keane, Sean Heffernan, Robert Keane, Sean Coyne, James Kerr, Paul Joyce and captain Mark Keane.

In midfield, Diarmuid O Connor and Brian Madden were on top and in our forwards Tim Gilmore, Kevin Derrane, Damien O Brien, Paul Doolin, Peter Killeen and Darach Mac Con Iomaire all worked hard in tough conditions.

Subs Bryan Cloherty, Josh Curtin, Tom Clancy and Andrew O Halloran all made big contributions on their introductions. The celebrations kicked off with a spin around the parish with the new trophy and continued into the early hours in Sheridans, Knocknacarra.

Huge credit to management team of Pat McGrath, Robert Earley, John Kerr and Seamus Burke. 

Mascots – Cian and Conor Cloherty

Damien O'Brien
Rahoon/Newcastle’s Damien O’Brien receives the man of the match award in the Junior C 1 final from Michael Larkin, Chairman Galway Hurling Committee.
Rahoon Newcastle junior hurling
The Rahoon/Newcastle Junior C 1 team which defeated Tynagh/Abbey-Duniry in the county final, Back row L-R John Kerr, Josh Curtin, Matt Dunne, Mathew Fiorentini, Robert Shannon, Sean Coyne, Lenny Curtin, James Kerr, David Keane, Tom Clancy, Paul Joyce, Tim Gilmore, Alan Kelly, Robert Earley, Seamus Burke, Tom Keane, Daithi O Gaodhra, Robert Keane and Bobby Keane
Front row L-R Pat McGrath, Sean Heffernan, Brian Madden, Bryan Cloherty, Rory Coyle, Brian Maloney, Paul Doolin, John Keane, Kevin Derrane, Mark Keane, Diarmuid O Connor, Damien O Brien, Andrew O Halloran, Peter Killeen, Darach Mac Con Iomaire.
Tynagh Abbey Duniry hurling
The Tynagh/Abbey-Duniry Junior C1 team which lost to Rahoon/Newcastle in the Junior C1 final , Back row, left to right: Colm Shaughnessy, Ritchie Tuohy, Kieran Sullivan, David Blake, Stephen Mitchell, Karl Kavanagh, Lar Headd, Aidan Shaughnessy, Conor Hoban, John Briscoe, Gavin Hoban, Brian Roche, Ollie Glynn, Declan Power (player Manager), Jonathan Ryan, Michael Hynes, Jamie Fahy.
Front row, Left to right: Gary KIlcar, Jimmy Fahy, Niall Farrell, Aaron O Halloran, Evan Ryan, Mike Mahony, Paddy Lawless, Declan Gilchrist, Anthony Molloy, Sean Molloy, John Murphy, Kevin Devine.