CONNACHT RUGBY: Three Teams Named for Interprovincial Finales 

Connacht Rugby

The Connacht U19, Women and U18 Girls teams have all been named ahead of their respective final Interprovincial Series games on Saturday (15th September). 

The under 19s head to Thomond Park to face Munster (k/o 1.30pm), and there are six changes to their starting 15 as they look to end their campaign on a high.

Monivea’s Cathal Fleming and Ballinasloe’s Oisin McCormack (Galway minor footballer) are drafted in to the pack; Creggs’ Tim Lambe is named at scrum half; while Oughterard’s Robert Deacy and Corinthians’ Diarmuid Klicommins are named on the three-quarter line.

Roscrea’s Jerry Cahir (prop) is the other change from a team that also features four Galwegians players (Iarlaith Morrin Laheen, Joshua Dunne, Conor O’Shaughnessy, Oran McNulty).

Connacht u19s vs Munster (Saturday, 1.30pm Thomond Park): 

Oran McNulty; Diarmuid Kilcommins, Diarmuid Kilgallen, Robert Deacy, Conor O’Shaughnessy; Dylan Prendergast ©, Tim Lambe; Jerry Cahir, Billy McVann, Liam Winnett; Iarlaith Morrin Laheen, Cathal Fleming; Donnacha Byrne, Oisin McCormack, Joshua Dunne. 

Replacements: Eoin De Buitléar (Corinthians), Conal O’Griofa (Corinthians), Harry O’Reilly, Fergus Galvin (Galwegians), Hubert Costello (Corinthians), Evan Kenny (Corinthians), Cameron Watson, Saul O’Carroll.

The Connacht Women also go in search of their first interpro win of the season when they host Ulster at The Sportsground (k/o 2pm), and their management team have made three changes from the side that lost to Leinster last time out.

Galwegians’ Ciara O’Connor is re-installed at hooker.  Nicola Caldbeck and Hilary Griffin are the other changes in a team that includes NUIG’s Orla Dixon and either other Galwegians (Laura Feely, Amelie Roux, Denise Redmond, Edel McMahon, Nichola Fryday, Mary Healy, Nicole Fowley, Mairead Coyne).

Connacht Women vs Ulster (Saturday, 2.30pm Sportsground): 

Mairead Coyne; Jill Draper, Catherine Martine, Nicole Fowley, Orla Dixon; Hilary Griffin, Mary Healy; Laura Feely ©, Ciara O’Connor, Ann Marie O’Hora; Nicola Caldbeck, Amelie Roux; Denise Redmond, Edel McMahon, Nichola Fryday. 

Replacements; Moya Griffin, Elizabeth McNicholas (Tuam), Julia Bauer, Clodagh Dunne, Tara Buggie (Galwegians), Shannen Lane (Galwegians), Ellen Taite, Rachel Healy.

Meanwhile the under 18 Girls are one win away from an historic Interprovincial double for the province. With two wins from two so far, victory over Leinster at Barnhall RFC (k/o 2.45pm) would see them emulate the under 18 Boys in sealing the Interprovincial title.

They’ve made three changes from the team that beat Munster.  Ballinasloe’s Claudia McNicholas is named at hooker.

Kayley Mannion and Hannah Johnston are the other changes in a team that features seven other Ballinasloe players (Jordan Hopkins, Emily Gavin, Aoibheann Reilly, Meabh Deely, Hannah Gullane, Beibhinn Parsons, Aine Galvin).

Connacht under 18 Girls vs Leinster (Saturday, 2.45pm Barnhall RFC): 

Aine Galvin; Finola Collins, Beibhinn Parsons, Niamh Kenny, Hannah Gullane; Meabh Deely, Aoibheann Reilly; Mary McLaughlin, Claudia McNicholas, Kayley Mannion; Jordan Hopkins, Grace Browne Moran; Emily Gavin ©, Hannah Johnston, Lily Brady.

Replacements: Macy McDermott, Mia Fahy (Ballinasloe), Sarah O’Rourke, Rachel Cox, Rian Callaghan, Nina Mathastein, Katie Hogan, Ava Ryder.