Community Games

The Galway County Community Games Athletic and Cycling Finals took place in Ballinderreen on Sunday (3rd June) as hundreds of young children participated in all events, representing all areas in Galway. 

The weather was great and the officials were extraordinary and a wonderful fun filled day was had by all who attended.

Cllr Eileen Mannion (Cathaoirleach na Gaillimhe) and John Byrne (CEO Aldi Community Games) attended the Opening Cermony and the first winners of the day were for the parade – 1. Ballinderreen, 2. Moylough/Mountbellew, 3. Dunmore/Garrafrauns/Kiltevna.

But all areas looked well with particular mention to Claregalway/Lackagh, Salthill/Claddagh and Annaghdown who read the pledges and lit the Bowl of Light.  It was a great start to a day that went from strength to strength.

All the winners qualified to represent Galway at the Aldi Community Games National Finals in University of Limerick on the weekend of August 17th – 19th.

Winners in all events will now represent Galway at the Aldi Community Games National Finals in University of Limerick on the weekend 17th to 19th August 2018. 

And over 230 photos from the event can be found on the Galway Community Games Facebook Page.


U/12 Girls Cycling 

1st,     Naoise Flatley, Kinvara 

2nd,    Emma Considine Ballinderreen

3rd,    Niamh Ruane, Oughterard


U/14 Girls Cycling 

1st, Nina Bodamer, Athenry 


U/8 Girls 80m 

1st,     Ella Brennan, Caherlistrane/Kilcoona 

2nd,    Shayna Greally, Craughwell

3rd,    Kayleigh Mcnamara, Annaghdown


U/8 Girls 80m 

1st,      Elizabeth Healy, Annaghdown 

2nd,    Josie Bishop, Dunmore/Garrafrauns/Kiltevna

3rd,    Eadaoin Cleary, Moycullen

3rd,    Rachel O’Shaughnessy, Kinvara


U/10 Girls 100m 

1st,      Holly Mulvey, Athenry 

2nd,    Lauren Morgan, Craughwell

3rd,    Michelle Niwadi, Galway City East


U/10 Girls 200m 

1st,     Saoirse Mullin, Ardrahan 

2nd,    Hannah McGrath, Bullaun/New Inn

3rd,    Siobhan Burke,   Gort


U/10 Girls 60m Hurdles 

1st,     Hazel, Bullaun/New Inn 

2nd,    Kate Lavelle, Athenry

3rd,    Aoife Murray, Moylough/Mountbellew


U/12 Girls 100m 

1st,     Orlaith Mannion, Ballinderreen 

2nd,    Aisling Dolphin, Ardrahan

3rd,    Grace Lynch,  Craughwell


U/12 Girls 600m 

1st,     Aoibhinn Fitzpatrick, Ballinasloe 

2nd,    Siobhan Geaney,  Kinvara

3rd,    Clodagh McDonagh, Caherlistrane/Kilcoona


U/14 Girls 100m 

1st,     Eghosa Ekoma,  DRA/Doushiska 

2nd,    Aisling Finn, Ballinderreen

3rd,    Sophie Farrell, Ballinderreen


U/14 Girls 800m  

1st,     Leana NicDhonnacha. Galway City East 

2nd,    Aoibhe Joyce, Salthill/Claddagh

3rd,    Fauve Aylmer, Craughwell


U/14 Girls 80m Hurdles 

1st,     Ava McKeon,  Ballinasloe 

2nd,    Caoimhe Farrell, Woodford

3rd,    Siofra Davis, Craughwell


U/16 Girls 100m 

1st,     Ailsha  Larkin, Woodford 

2nd,    Aisosa Ekoma,  DRA/Doushiska

3rd,    Blaithnid Kelly, Annaghdown


U/16 Girls 200m 

1st,     Aoibhe Deely, Bullaun/New Inn 

2nd,    Ava Finn, Craughwell

3rd,    Roisin Dalton, Ballinderreen


U/16 Girls 1,500m 

1st,     Maedbh Walsh, Oughterard 

2nd,    Aoibhinn, Moylough/Mountbellew

3rd,    Emma Ryan, Moylough/Mountbellew


U/12 Boys Cycling 

1st, Darragh Kavanagh, Kinvara 

2nd, John Durkin, Kinvara

3rd, Dean Tierney, Oughterard


U/14 Boys Cycling 

1st, Dara Higgins, Moylough/Mountbellew 

2nd Oisin Colleran Moylough/Mountbellew

3rd, Shay McGovern, Salthill/Claddagh


U/8 Boys 60m 

1st,     Ben Naughton, Beagh 

2nd,    Cathal Desbonnet, Craughwell

3rd,   Jack O’Brien, Ballinderreen


U/8 Boys 80m 

1st,      Lucas Slattery, Dunmore/Garrafrauns/Kiltevna 

2nd,    Kalum Manning, Ballinasloe

3rd,    Aaron McHugh, Caherlistrane/Kilcoona


U/10 Boys 100m 

1st,     Caleb Ike, DRA/Doughiska 

2nd,    Tom Heaney, Tuam

3rd,    Cian Hannon, Claregalway/Lackagh


U/10 Boys 200m 

1st,     Dylan Rabbitte, Claregalway/Lackagh 

2nd,    Jack Stanford,     Gort,

3rd,    Odhran O’Hare, Caherlistrane/Kilcoona


U/10 Boys 60m Hurdles 

1st,     Orrin Gilmore.  Ardrahan 

2nd,    Jamie Cooke, Ballinderreen

3rd,    Sean Lyons, Beagh


U/12 Boys 100m 

1st,     Darragh Fahy, Bullaun/New Inn 

2nd,    Wisdom Ike,   DRA/Doughiska

3rd,    Ronan Duggan, Claregalway/Lackagh


U/12 Boys 600m 

1st,     Kyle Fitzgerald,  Claregalway/Lackagh 

2nd,    Sean Doggett, Athenry

3rd,    Sean Rattigan, Tuam


U/14 Boys 100m 

1st,     Luke O’Flynn, Inis Mor 

2nd,    Clinton Ike, DRA/Doughiska

3rd,    Adan Lavelle,  Athenruy


U/14 Boys 800m 

1st,     Cian McNeilus, Athenry 

2nd,    Michael Leahy, Ballinderreen

3rd,    Shane Fitzpatrick Ballinderreen


U/14 Boys 80m Hurdles 

1st,     Calum Healy, Athenry 

2nd,    Davd Mannion, Ballinderreen


U/16 Boys 100m 

1st,     Eli Sheedy, Ballinderreen 

2nd,    Shane Connaughton, Moylough/Mountbellew

3rd, Conor Munnelly, Tuam


U/16 Boys 200m 

1st,     Donnagh Keane, Beagh 

2nd,    Oisin Davis, Craughwell


U/16 Boys 1,500m 

1st,     Kyle Moorehead, Craughwell 

2nd,    Dean Casey, Beagh

3rd,    Dylan Casey, Beagh


U/10 Mixed Relay 

1st,     Ardrahan 

2nd,    Craughwell

3rd,    Moylough/Mountbellew


U/13 Mixed Relay 

1st,     Athenry 

2nd,    Oughterard

3rd,    Woodford


U/15 Mixed Relay         

1st,     Craughwell 


U/12 Girls Relay 

1st,     Craughwell 

2nd,    Ballinasloe

3rd,    Bullaun/New Inn


U/12 Boys Relay 

1st,     Claregalway /Lackagh 

2nd,    Bullaun/New Inn

3rd,    Dunmore/Garrafrauns/Kiltevna


U/14 Girls Relay 

1st,     Craughwell 

2nd,    Claregalway/Lackagh

3rd,    Kinvara


U/14 Boys Relay 

1st,     Ballinderreen 

2nd,    Moylough/Mountbellew

3rd,    Kilnadeema/Leitrim


U/16 Boys Relay 

1st,   Beagh 


U/16 Girls Relay 

1st, Moylough/Mountbellew 


 U/16 Boys High Jump  

1st      James Furey (Craughwell)   

2nd     Rúaidhrí Madden (Athenry)


U/12 Boys Long Puck 

1st, Sean Walsh, Moycullen,    73.46 

2nd,    Dara Walsh,  Moycullen,  68.70

3rd,    Liam Linnane, Gort,     67.80


U/14 Boys Shot Putt 

1st,     Liam Shaw, Athenry,    13.72 

2nd,    Jack Connolly, Newbridge/Ballygar/Tohergar,     9.83

3rd,    Olan Kelly, Annaghdown,      9.20


U/14 Boys Long Jump 

1st,     Stephen Mannion, Ballinderreen, 4.93 

2nd,    Lucas Schukat, Craughwell,   4.71

3rd,    Evan Deely, Bullaun/New Inn, 4.10


U/12 Boys Ball Throw 

1st,     Michael Cunningham Smyth, Salthill/Claddagh, 48.43 

2nd,    Matthew Collins, Claregalway /Lackagh,  44.00

3rd,    David Kilbane, Athenry,    43 09


U14 Girls Javelin  

1st     Tara Morgan (Craughwell)  


U14 Boys Javelin  

1st     Kenneth O’Connor (Craughwell) 

2nd     Padraig Pearl (Kinvara)

3rd    Sean Larkin (Newbridge/Ballygar/Toghergar)


U16 Girls High Jump 

1st     Saoirse Healey (Athenry)   


U/14 Girls Shot Putt 

1st,     Ella Rafftery,  Corofin/Belclare/Sylane,   8.67 

2nd,    Grace Berningham,  Kinvara, 8.55

3rd,    Luisne Keane, Moylough/Mountbellew, 6.11


U/14 Girls Long Jump 

1st,     Ella Lyons, Oranmore/Maree,  4.31 

2nd,    Erin Kelly, Craughwell,    4.30

3rd,    Aoife Waldron, Salthill/Claddagh, 4.22


Girls U/14 Long Puck 

1st,     Aoibhinn Barry, Kinvara,       61.76 

2nd,    Emer Gantley, Beagh,    60.76

3rd,    Lara Kilkelly, Kinvara, 60.10


Girls U/12 Ball Throw 

1st,     Cora Sweeney, Athenry,  31.90 

2nd,    Aoife Caine, Oughterard, 29.64

3rd,    Siofra Lenihan, Claregalway/Lackagh, 29.42