University of Galway President Prof Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh stepping down


University of Galway has announced that Professor Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh is to step down from his role as President.

Professor Ó hÓgartaigh notified Údarás na hOllscoile – the University’s Governing Authority at its scheduled meeting this morning.

Professor Ó hÓgartaigh said that he is stepping down from his role to pursue other interests.

“After long and careful consideration, I have concluded that this is the right time as our University is developing a new strategy for 2025-2030; we will have a new Governing Authority in early 2025; and we are preparing for a new academic year.”

“I want to express thanks for the support and kindness given to me in my time here,” Prof Ó hÓgartaigh said.

He added that wishes, “continued success to our students, alumni, researchers and academics and the professional staff who keep my alma mater – this distinct institution, of this place and from this place – among the best in Europe and the world, a university with no gates. Universities play a profound role in society.”

“Education has had a transformative influence on Ireland. It is a challenging time for the sector with significant and welcome changes to be seen in governance. I hope in this context that we see the vision of investment for the next generation come to fruition.”

Máire Geoghegan-Quinn, Chair of the University’s Governing Authority, said, “On behalf of the University of Galway Governing Authority, I would like to thank Professor Ó hÓgartaigh for his work, his achievements and his leadership and wish him the best for the future.”

“Professor Ó hÓgartaigh steered this University through the unprecedented challenges of the pandemic, with a considerate and caring approach. He has lived and worked through the values of respect, openness, excellence and sustainability.”

He has been a strong advocate for the sector, in particular for student supports and funding, and he departs at a time when the University is positioned strongly for the future.”

The outgoing President will remain in the post until the start of the new academic year.