University of Galway announces 2022 Honorary Degree recipients

Galway daily news Minister O'Gorman to address Galway event on upcoming referendums

University of Galway has announced the four recipients of Honorary Degrees at the 2022 Winter Conferring ceremonies.

Margaretta D’Arcy, Lelia Doolan, Ronan Scully and Dr Jerry Cowley will be conferred with Honorary Degrees during the celebrations between Wednesday, November 23 and Tuesday, November 29.

The Honorary Degree awardees will join more than 3,600 students graduating over the five days, as well as renowned trad musician Máirtín O’Connor and award-winning poet Mary O’Malley, who were unable to receive their Honorary Degrees last year.

Margaretta D’Arcy is an activist, actress, playwright and writer, and member of Aosdána, while Lelia Doolan is a film director, producer and writer.

Dr Jerry Cowley is a medical doctor, barrister, and public representative, and Ronan Scully is a humanitarian, volunteer and charity fund-raiser.

Speaking ahead of the conferring ceremonies, President of University of Galway, Professor Ciarán Ó hÓgartaigh, said he is delighted to be in a position to recognise this group of extraordinary individuals on behalf of the university.

“Each one has made an excellent and distinctive contribution to public life, the betterment of society and the interests of humanity, leaving the world in a better place than we found it, which is the responsibility of us all,” he said.

“It is also great to be able to mark the achievements of our outstanding graduates and those being conferred with an honorary award for the first time under our new name and our new identity and celebrate everything that Ollscoil na Gaillimhe – University of Galway stands for, whether it’s through our values, our work for the public good and being in and of our place.”