GMIT students takes home coveted Student of the Year prize

Galway daily news GMIT student wins Student of the Year at Q mark awards
NO FEE PICTURE: Irene Collins Managing Director of EIQA and Lecturer Rachel McCarthy pictured with Margaret Murray from Galway Mayo Institute of Technology who won Diploma in Quality Management Student of the Year – year 1 at The National Q Mark Awards on Friday September 28th at the Clayton Hotel, Burlington Road in Dublin 4. This is a very special year for The Q Mark Awards as EIQA celebrate their 50th anniversary. Almost 600 people representing 140 companies attended a formal black-tie ceremony in competition for one of only 27 awards presented. Picture Conor McCabe Photography.

A GMIT student won Student of the Year at the Q Mark Awards this week for the fourth year running.

Margaret Murray from Claregalway was named Student of the Year for Quality Management Year 1 from EIQA at the awards in Dublin recently

GMIT delivers the EIQA Certificate in Quality Management through the School of Maths & Computing on its Galway campus.

Course Co-ordinator and Rachel McCarthy praised Margaret, saying “This is a fantastic achievement and represents the dedication and interest in her studies that Margaret demonstrated, and is still demonstrating in year two of this course.”

She added her proud she is that GMIT students have been declared the best in the country for four straight years.

The week after the ceremony, Margaret shared her advice and tips with the current Quality Management course members that are coming up on their exams.

GMIT runs the certificate in Quality Management one evening a week over two years with two modules in this Level 7, add-on Bachelor of Science Degree in “Quality for Industry”

The Excellence Ireland Quality Association runs the Q Mark awards each year to encourage and reward best practices across every sector of Irish business.

This year marked the 50th anniversary of the Q Mark Awards with almost 600 people representing 140 companies and institutions competing for 27 prizes.


Photo: Conor McCabe Photography