11.2 C
Home NEWS Galway East: All seats filled with no change in lineup

Galway East: All seats filled with no change in lineup

The counting has concluded in Galway East on the eight count with no change in the lineup of TDs from 2016.

Ciarann Cannon (FG) and Anne Rabbitte (FF) were both returned to their seats in Galway East with the redistribution of surplus votes from Sean Canney.

The Independent TD was returned to his seat on the previous count with more than 1,600 surplus votes past the quota.

In the final count Ciaran Cannon came in just over the quota with 10,890 votes while Anne Rabbitte was deemed elected to the final seat with 10,022.

Louis O’Hara narrowly missed out on a seat as the first ever Sinn Féin TD, finishing with just over 9,700 votes

Briain Kelly
Email: news@galwaydaily.com
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Two Galway areas among 10 highest Covid rates in the Republic

Galway City Central's 14-day Covid incidence rate was the third highest in the country last week, and data released this evening shows that the...

Coronavirus: 6 deaths and 866 COVID-19 cases today

There have been 6 additional deaths related to COVID-19 reported today, along with 866 new confirmed cases.Of today's cases, 54 are in Galway, the...

Town Voucher helping people to shop local in Ballinasloe this holiday season

The importance of shopping local in order to support businesses through the COVID crisis has been driven home many times in recent months.ShopBallinasloe has...