Galway city named best in Ireland at national enterprise awards

Galway Daily news Galway named best city at national enterprise town awards

Galway City was named the Best in Ireland this week at the Bank of Ireland National Enterprise Town Awards.

The Bank of Ireland National Enterprise Town Awards recognise and reward towns and villages where businesses communities come together to showcase the spirit of enterprise in their local area.

Galway was named the Best City, taking home €10,000 in prize money.

Mayor of Galway Niall McNelis represented the city at the awards in Kilkenny along with Gill Carroll from Galway City Business Association, Chairperson of Galway Latin Quarter Aislinn O’Driscoll.

The overall winner on the night was Letterkenny, winning a total of €33,000, while Kells in Co. Meath won €20,000 in the new Rising Star category.

The National Enterprise Town Awards were held at the Lyrath Hotel in Kilkenny on Wednesday.

In total €157,000 in prize money was handed out to winners on the night.

CEO of Bank of Ireland Francesca McDonagh said “Tonight’s awards are about recognising the enterprising activity being undertaken by towns and communities all over Ireland.

“I have been impressed with the energy, commitment and sheer hard work that we have seen from the awards entrants across the length and breadth of the country.”

Overall winner

  • Letterkenny, Co. Donegal

Rising Star winner

  • Kells, Co. Meath

City award winners

  • Overall winner – Galway city
  • Runner-up – the Liberties in Dublin

Town initiatives of the year

  • Myshall, Carlow for its ‘Turas Columbanus’
  • South Regeneration Limerick and the Tait House Community Enterprise for its community garden
  • Arklow, Co Wicklow for its ‘Town of Gardens’
  • Clonakilty, Cork for its ‘Friends of Asylum Seekers’ initiative
  • Mountmellick, Laois for the Mountmellick community arts centre
  • Thurles, Tipperary for the ‘Cabra Wetlands’ project

National category winners

  • Dunleer, Co. Louth
  • Kinsale, Co. Cork
  • Letterkenny, Co. Donegal

Regional winners

  • Mulhuddart, Co. Dublin
  • Sandyford, Co. Dublin
  • Tallaght, Co. Dublin
  • Cashel, Co. Tipperary
  • Kinsale, Co. Cork
  • Ennis, Co. Clare
  • Dunleer, Co. Louth
  • Kildare town
  • Kilkenny
  • Claremorris, Co. Mayo
  • Monaghan Town
  • Letterkenny, Co. Donegal

Regional runners-up 

  • Howth, Co. Dublin
  • Balbriggan, Co. Dublin
  • Kilmacthomas, Co. Waterford
  • Shannon, Co. Clare
  • Clonmel, Co. Tipperary
  • Castlecomer, Co. Kilkenny
  • Kells, Co. Meath
  • Mullingar, Co. Westmeath
  • Donegal Town
  • Westport, Co. Mayo
  • Sligo town

Regional second runners-up

  • Sligo
  • Castleisland, Co. Kerry
  • Bree, Co. Wexford
  • Bray, Co. Wicklow
  • Clones, Co. Monaghan