Galway City East first tally shows McDonnell topping the poll

Galway Daily news Galway city east first tally

The first preference results for Galway City East are in with Independent councillor Declan McDonnell topping the unofficial polls with 1,060 votes.

Fianna Fáil looks likely to pick another seat in Galway City East with Alan Cheevers in second place with 13% of the first unofficial tally.

There are sixteen candidates standing for six seats in the city council’s east district.

Going by the first tally Alan Cheevers will be the only new face with councillors McDonnell (Ind), Terry O’Flaherty (Ind), Mike Crowe (FF), and Noel Larkin (Ind) looking likely retain their seats.

Councillors Mairead Farrell (SF) and John Walsh (FG) are contesting the final seat in the city east with just 54 votes between them in the first tally.

This is just the first unofficial tally and the final result will be not be known until after the official count with transfers.

The first preference votes from the east ward are as follows:

1. Declan McDonnell (Independent) 1060 14%

2. Alan Cheevers (Fianna Fáil) 939 13%

3. Terry O’Flaherty (Independent) 916 12.7%

4. Michael Crowe (Fianna Fáil) 727 10%

5. Noel Larkin (Independent) 676 9.3%

6. Mairéad Farrell (Sinn Fein) 514 7.1%

7. John Walsh (Fine Gael) 460 6.4%

8. Owen Hanley (Social Democrat’s) 420 5.8%

9. Claire Hillary (Green Party) 366 5.1%

10. Neil O’Mahoney (Renua) 219 3.0%

11. Donal Lynch (Fine Gael) 214 3.0%

12. Conor Burke (Solidarity/PBP) 196 2.7%

13. Liam Boyle (Labour) 174 2.4%

14. Michel Tully (Independent) 148 2.0%

15. Nuala Nolan (Aontu) 143 2.0%

16. Pat Hardiman (Independent) 67 0.9%