9.8 C
Home NEWS Eugene Murphy elected to the Seanad

Eugene Murphy elected to the Seanad

Former Roscommon-Galway TD Eugene Murphy has been elected to Seanad Éireann on the 18th count today.

The former Fianna Fáil TD has been elected to the 11 seat Agricultural Panel on the Seanad today after counting was called to a halt after the 16th count last night.

Murphy surpassed the quota to finish with 94,661 votes along with Tim Burke, Paddy Lombard, and Michael D’Arcy, all of Fine Gael.

The Galway county councillor Aisling Dolan was also running for a seat on the agricultural panel, but was eliminated on the 14th count yesterday.

There is just a single seat left to fill on the agricultural panel after the 20th count this afternoon.

Eugene Murphy was one of the few casualties in Galway in February’s general election, losing his seat in the Roscommon-Galway constituency to Sinn Féin’s Claire Kerrane.

The next results which are expected to come in for this Seanad election are those of the Trinity and National University of Ireland panels.

Briain Kelly
Email: news@galwaydaily.com
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Coronavirus: 1,025 COVID-19 cases today but no deaths

There have been no additional deaths related to COVID-19 reported today, but the Department of Health has confirmed 1,025 new cases.Of the cases notified...

NUIG seeks retention permission for solar panels on two buildings

NUI Galway is seeking planning approval from the city council for the retention of solar panels erected on two campus buildings.Two separate retention applications...

Leo Varadkar “increasingly optimistic” about vaccine in early 2021

An Tanaiste Leo Varadkar has said that he is becoming 'increasingly optimistic' that a vaccine will be available in the first half of next...