3.3 C
Home NEWS Councils to receive funding to appoint 'Atlantic Economic Corridor officers'

Councils to receive funding to appoint ‘Atlantic Economic Corridor officers’

Funding of €300,000 will be given to the ten county and city councils along the West coast, it has been announced.

Minister of State at the Department of Rural and Community Development Seán Kyne confirmed the funding, whereby the 10 local authorities will each receive 30,000 each to designate an ‘Atlantic Economic Corridor officer’.

They will work to develop the AEC and support the AEC Taskforce and sub groups.

“The overarching objective of the AEC initiative is to maximise the infrastructure, talent and enterprise assets along the western seaboard and to combine the economic hubs, clusters and catchments of an area to attract investment, improve competitiveness, support job creation and contribute to an improved quality of life,” said the Galway West TD and Minister of State.

“Working with my colleague, Minister Michael Ring TD, I am delighted to be able to support the city and county councils to designate an Atlantic Economic Corridor Officer.”

He explained that the concept of an AEC Officer is based on the appointments of Broadband Officers in every city and county council in the country, funding his Department has provided as part of the Mobile Phone and Broadband Taskforce.

Each Broadband Officer is a dedicated point of contact for phone coverage and broadband issues and the officers have been welcomed by the Taskforce stakeholders.

Michael Malone
To get in touch with Galway Daily, email editor@galwaydaily.com
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Plans in the works for 345 apartments in Mervue

A consultation is being sought with An Bord Pleanala regarding the construction of 345 Build-to-Let apartments on the east side of the city.Crown Square...

NUIG research deepens understanding of COVID-19 infections

Researchers at NUI Galway have published the findings of a study which improves our understanding of the process of COVID-19 viral infections.The Advanced Glycoscience...

COVID-19: 93 deaths today and 73 Galway cases

There have been 93 additional deaths related to COVID-19 reported by the Department of Health today, along with 2,001 new confirmed cases.Galway reports 73...