GAA: Micheal Lundy’s Equaliser Allows Corofin Survive

Corofin Mountbellew

County Senior Football Final – Sunday, 28th October 2018 

Corofin 0-7 Mountbellew/Moylough 0-7 


All Ireland champions Corofin survived a real scare as Micheal Lundy fisted an equaliser deep into stoppage time in Salthill.

Underdogs Mountbellew-Moylough, who were disciplined throughout a tight encounter, had reeled off three points without reply in the closing stages to hit the front.

Click HERE to Read Cian O’Connell’s full report from Pearse Stadium. 

Scorers – Corofin: Gary Sice 0-3, Liam Silke 0-1, Kieran Molloy 0-1, Martin Farragher 0-1, Micheal Lundy 0-1. 

Scorers – Mountbellew-Moylough: Barry McHugh 0-4 (two frees, one ‘45), Colin Ryan 0-1, Paul Donnellan 0-1, Eoin Finnerty 0-1. 

Corofin: Bernard Power; Cathal Silke, Kieran Fitzgerald, Liam Silke; Kieran Molloy, Dylan McHugh, Dylan Wall; Daithi Burke, Ronan Steede; Gary Sice, Michael Farragher, Jason Leonard; Martin Farragher, Ian Burke, Micheal Lundy.

Subs used: Conor Cunningham for Wall (53 mins), Dylan Canney for Burke (59 mins).

Mountbellew/Moylough: Damien Boyle; Mark Mannion, Colin Murray, Mark Mannion; Noel McDonagh, Ger Donaghue, John Daly; Michael Daly, Matthew Barrett; Stephen Boyle, Paul Donnellan, Leo Donnellan; Eoin Finnerty, Barry McHugh, Colm Mannion.

Subs: Colin Ryan for Mannion (53 mins), David Hogan for McDonagh (56 mins), Billy Mannion for Boyle (60 mins).

Referee: James Molloy.

Corofin will meet Mountbellew/Moylough in the County Senior Football Final Replay on Sunday, 4th November.  Throw-in at Pearse Stadium is 1.45pm.